The author argues here that a study about the reading preferences of Waymarsh is proven to be wrong since the most checked out book in the public libraries does not fall in that section. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated if the study was trustworthy. In support of this argument, the author reasons that the finding about the most frequently checked out book proved the study wrong. However, careful examination of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible justification for the author’s conclusion. Hence, the argument can be considered incomplete or unsubstantiated.

Firstly, the claim assumes that the mere consideration of borrowed out books in the public libraries is sufficient evidence to show the literature preference of the Waymarsh citizens. This is simply an assumption made without much solid ground. Nowadays, for example, people acquire books or literature through many more ways than just the public libraries, such as buying them in local stores, ordering them in an online shop or even downloading them to their e-book. Hence, the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly stated that the majority of the citizens get their reading material in the public library, or if it included more sources for reading material.

The argument readily assumes that the most checked out book at the public library has to be in the section of the general preferences of the Waymarsh citizens. This again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any clear correlation between the most sold book due to a temporary trend and the overall preference of the people. Moreover, the people visiting the public library could be unrepresentative compared to the average citizen of the town/city. To illustrate further, the most checked out book could just be a trend of the people using public libraries like, for instance, Harry Potter used to be. This does not necessarily mean that it represents the overall preference of the people living in Waymarsh. Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the claims made by the author are more of an easy solution to prove the prior study wrong rather than providing substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is not persuasive as it stands. To strengthen it further, the author must provide clear evidence, perhaps by including a reliable survey of how the people acquire their reading material and whether the people visiting the public library are representative compared to the citizens living in Waymarsh. Finally, to better asses the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about other books often checked out and if the most checked out book is just caused by a trend or a general preference.