Company X has just switched to a 4-day workweek, mandating that employees work 10 hours per day from Monday to Thursdaybinstead of 8 hours per day from Monday to Friday. Although the policy is new, Company X claims that the policy would help to increase p

The author of the statement argues here that the switch to a 4-day week, with remaining weekly working hours, helps the company to increase profits while boosting the employee’s morale. Stated in this way, the argument reveals several instances of poor reasoning and ill-defined terminology. To justify this recommendation, the author reasons that closed offices on Fridays cuts costs and less total commuting time to work per week results in higher motivation of the employees. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that the claim provides only little credible support for the author’s conclusion. Hence, the argument can be considered incomplete or unsubstituted.

First of all, the argument assumes that shutting down the office on Fridays will cut costs and, therefore, raise the profits of company X. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. For example, rents to be paid either way, electricity and water use will be higher on the other weekdays due to longer working hours or even higher in total since more lights are used when it is dark, what is more likely to happen after an eight-hour shift. Additionally, workers might have one meal in the company with the new rules, which produces additional costs from, for instance, the use of microwaves in the office kitchen. Thus, saving costs is not proved and with convincing evidence and would have been much more understandable if it explicitly stated that fewer costs are measured at other offices after the change of working schedule.

Secondly, the argument readily claims that the moral of the workers raises with less travel time to work on a weekly basis. This again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any clear correlation between commuting time and productivity. To illustrate further, the marginal working productivity usually decreases within time, after basic economic principles, and would result in even lower morale with such long working hours. If the argument had provided evidence of a clear correlation between the employee’s moral, commuting time considering longer working hours, it would have been much more convincing. Since the commuting time is not proved to have a significant impact on workers productivity and motivation, the reader is left with the impression that the claims made by the author are more of a wishful thinking that a substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide more concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a reliable survey of the company’s employees and their personal working preferences when it comes to working hours per day and commuting times. Finally, to better assess the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about the true chance in costs of a 4-day week and if profits will possibly fall or rise with the proposed change.