Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether leaders should be replaced in a five-year rhythm. Indisputably, staying in the position of power for an indefinite amount of time causes the risk for corruption, declining motivation to change something and a lack of newly brought energy or ideas from other, potentially more competent, leaders. Nevertheless, setting a maximum term period may hinder long-term investments or decisions to be made, and might force skilled and nearly irreplaceable leaders to make space for someone less compatible with the position. Thus, I generally disagree with the opinion that a person in power has to leave his or her position after a set amount of time, regardless of the achievement made or the satisfaction of the population.

First, I want to point out that a long-time perspective of an enterprise, an educational institution or a government is crucial for a stable development or growth in the desired key performance indicators. I would like to point out that with an already settled leave of a leader in power, the decisions made then won’t go widely beyond this timeframe since their achievements just get appreciated for their time in office. To illustrate that further, the example of leaders in the governments show exactly these patterns. The presidents or chancellors merely get honored or disliked for the situation during their leadership, even though this is mostly the result of the prior laws enforced by other people. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that these leaders want the country they are leading to performing best during these years, and the focus on the long-term outcomes loses in relevance. The same applies to people in power in other fields.

Furthermore, if someone is doing a very great job and all his or her employees agree with his leadership or even face a lack of alternatives, the rule of a five-year period could do more harm than good. Specifically, in family own businesses, the people on top often care personally so much about the company that they put an enormous amount of effort in maintaining or increasing its standing for new generations, not only a couple of years. In addition, leaders who have to leave in politics might represent the population to a bigger extent like it was the case in the latest US election. In my opinion, former president Obama could have benefitted more Americans by staying in office than Clinton or Trump.

In conclusion, although there are reasons such as a higher possibility of corruption to happen and overriding rules of leaders just to stay in office, I believe that the benefits of a flexible approach to this issue are a more beneficial solution due to the mentioned points. As long as there are equal chances for other applicants to replace leaders in their positions, the system should not be changed.