38.The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Sartorian's new vice president presumes that by selling alpaca overcoats they will be able to thrive in the clothing market. On the other hand, the vice president's supporting details of his idea requires additional evidence. He/she should provide that the new fabric supplier indeed supplies high quality wool fabric sufficient enough to make the alpaca overcoat, and additional information about the market that the coat will sell well, and finally that price increase in other clothing means that customers are willing to pay a significantly higher price for the alpaca overcoats.

First of all, alpaca overcoats seem to require high quality wool fabric and the previous fabric supplier wasn't able to provide the quality needed so they got a new fabric supplier. However, there is lacking evidence that the new fabric supplier is qualified, and will be able to meet the demands of the company's quality for wool. For instance, although this new fabric supplier does supply the best possible quality of silk, they may have derogatory quality in other fabrics because they only concentrate on the production of silk. To further support this reasoning the vice president should send some people to the fabric supplier to check on their wool quality before deciding to produce the alpaca overcoats.

Next, the assumption that the coats will sell well doesn't sound logical enough. Even though the company has no competitor producing the alpaca overcoat and it has been 5 years since they competed in this market, maybe other companies has already developed a new kind of product that overshadows the quality and price of the alpaca overcoats during those years. In this case, the company's effort to sell alpaca overcoats will probably fail because customers are likely to purchase products from other companies that have replaced the alpaca overcoat. To further strengthen the vice president's argument, it needs additional information such as that some of the customers are still willing to buy alpaca overcoats.

Last but not least, the assertion that the increase in other clothing price will lead to the customer's willingness to pay for a much higher price for the alpaca overcoats doesn't seem sound. The augmentation in the price for other clothing may not be substantial compared to five years ago. For instance, a coat that was 100 dollars may have become 105 dollars which the increase in amount is just 5 dollars. If it is similar for all other clothing, it would not be logical to sell alpaca overcoats in a much highly incremented price because customers would expect similar or just slightly increased prices. Nevertheless, if there are some loyal customers to this product, alpaca overcoats may be still purchased by some people.

In conclusion there should be additional supporting evidence such as the wool quality surely meets the demand of the company to produce alpaca overcoats, consumers still favor buying alpaca overcoats instead of new types of clothing, and that the alpaca overcoats will indeed sell in a much higher price.