The following appeared in a memo from the new

vice president of Sartorian, a company that

manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in

obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric,

we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat.

Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well:

since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five

years and since our major competitor no longer

makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up

customer demand. Also, since the price of most types

of clothing has increased in each of the past five

years, customers should be willing to pay

significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than

they did five years ago, and our company profits will

increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific

evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and

explain how the evidence would weaken or

strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that the company should resume the production of its alpaca overcoat. The conclusion is mainly based on that they have a new fabric supplier and their major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat. However, some specific proofs should be provided to better evaluate the argument.

The author mentions that they have a new fabric supplier and infers that they can resume production. Apparently, behind the inference lies the assumption that the material from the new supplier is sufficient and of high quality. However, the poor assumption, in itself, cannot validate the argument. In all likelihood, the new supply of wool fabric might be inadequate, which means that the company will not have sufficient material to produce the overcoats for a long time. Additionally, it is not ascertained that the new supply of wool fabric will have a good quality. It is entirely possible that the texture of them are too coarse to attract the customers. Hence, it is far-fetched to argue that they can reproduce the overcoat without further evidence to rule out the above possibilities.

The author also deduces that since they have not offered alpaca overcoats for five years and since their major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, the customer demand will be pent-up. Nevertheless, the inference is vulnerable to counterarguments without more specific proofs being offered. First, even if their major rivals no longer sell alpaca overcoats, there might be some small factories still selling them. So the customers’ needs can be satisfied by these small companies. Secondly, even though there are no companies selling fabric overcoats now, it does not mean the pent-up customer demand. Maybe the customers do not need them any more, and that’s why no company sells them. Under these scenarios, the customer need will not be pent-up.

On the basis that the new supply is of good quality and adequate, and there is pent-up customer demand, it is still hasty to deduce that their company profits will increase. The inference is based on the poor assumption that the customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than before, which is tenuous without more credence being offered. It is highly possible that people cannot afford the overcoats five years ago. So they may be reluctant to buy them at a higher price nowadays. Even though many people are willing to buy them, the author cannot unjustifiably argue that the profits will certainly increase. Because the profit is swayed by the revenue and the expenditure, which means that the spending of machines, the rent fee and the payment for the workers should be taken into consideration. Hence, the profits may not be dramatic as expected.

To sum up, although the argument and the conclusion might be true, some specific credence should be released to better evaluate the argument. In that case, the argument will be more reasoning and convincing.