Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to read or watch the news

presented by people who have similar views than the news presented by those who have different views from

you.

Nowadays, people have various access to the news about every aspects in their life with the emergence and increasing popularity of new technologies like smart phones, televisions and the most important one, the internet. Different people have different preference towards diversified kinds of news and sometimes they also share the news they have heard about to their friends, families and colleagues. The vast majority of people may concern that it is more beneficial for them to read or watch the news brought about by people who always share the common ground with them rather than by those who have different perspectives from them, because it can avoid the conflicts between them. However, I definitely disagree with the statement since I believe that these two kinds of news are equally important to us.

For starters, the news shared by people who always have the similar views with us is conducive to our personal relationship with others. One of the major elements that sustain excellent human relations lies in extensive communication between people. In most cases, having similar opinions provide great topics for discussion. As the two share a great deal of common ground, an in-depth talk is more than likely. During the course of exchanging ideas, much can be gained and mutual understanding can be strengthened as well. In a sense, it paves the way for establishing stable human relationships. Therefore, watching and discussing the news showed by people who have similar views with us is a good way to stabilize our interrelationships. For instance, I am always willing to watch the news presented by my friend since we are both inclined to approve the rights of females, thus we never debate with regard to this issue and always have a number of opinions to express.

However, although the news shared by people who have similar perspectives with us is of great significance, there is no reason to refuse watching the ones presented by people who often have diametrically different views from us. Because it enables us to learn from different an refreshing perspectives, which can contribute to the cultivation of critical thinking. For instance, if we accept the news from people who always hold different opinions, we can acquire the opportunities to know more about the news which we have never paid much attention to and learn more about these unfamiliar fields. Also, through discussion regarding the current events with people who bring about them, we can gain a new sight to view the world, thus we can cultivate our competence of critical and creative thinking. By contrast, if we merely watch or read the news showed by people who are similar to us, our knowledge as well as ways of thinking will be all the same without novelty.

In sum, the news from people who resembled us is equally significant as the ones from people different from us. It is crucial for us to know about each of them for the sake of stable friendship as well as critical thinking.