60. The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

A firm provides investment advice for a client based on lots of reasons. However, many assumptions in the memo need to be dealt with by the firm to make its agreement more convincing.

Climate forecasters predict that the temperature in this country will still below the average even in the scorching hot season. Nevertheless, it’s difficult to know the climate forecasters’ background. It’s likely that they got master or doctor degree in atmospheric sciences, and did lots of research, which were approved or published by academia. However, it’s also likely that they just graduated from college and started to stay in lab. In this way, the data they collected wouldn’t be reliable. What’s more, it’s extremely hard to forecast the weather within 7 days accurately, let alone the long turn-climate.

Everyone has her own budget spending on oil or gas. Even if the temperature is quite low, there are still many ways to solve the thorny problem, such as wear more clothes and find the alternative natural resources. On the other hand, it sounds reasonable that increasing population causes lots of construction companies to build houses. However, once the housing price begins soaring, a big portion of people cannot afford to pay the rental or buy house. Consequently, they would choose to commute every day and get up early rather than bear immense debt only to have their own assets. Now, it’s evident that the demand for heating oil would not grow rapidly like their prediction.

It’s not necessarily true that there will be no other retail oiling companies trying to make profits due to the skyrocketing demand for heating oil. In this case, it’s no longer a wise choice to invest in this industry, and this company isn’t a monopoly anymore. Obviously, it’s risky to pour money into one industry when there are too many uncontrollable variables.

It still leaves a big space for the company to make its data more complete in order to convince their clients to invest.