8. The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

As per the recommendation by the planning department, there is no need to construct new electricity generating plant as energy consumption may reduce in the coming future. This recommendation is based on the facts that new technology has produced more efficient products which consume less energy and developed methods which don’t require electricity in some processes (which was earlier required). However, this recommendation is not based on a comprehensive evidence and many assumptions have been taken into account while doing so. Thus, there are some questions which needs to answered with concrete evidence to validate this recommendation.

Firstly, it is mentioned in the surveys that people want to conserve energy, but why? If there is already less consumption of energy due to new technologies, then why people want to conserve energy? Perhaps people want to conserve energy because their recent electricity consumption has been high and thus costing them more. So, they want to reduce their electricity bill by trying to minimize the use of various electrical equipments. Also it is mentioned that energy consumption is low because of new efficient devices, but in recent years there are a number of extra electrical equipments that have become a part of our households which were not present a decade earlier. A decade earlier there was not a microwave or an AC in every house, but today these things are counted as basic necessities in house. So, maybe this increase in equipments may lead to more energy consumption despite the increased efficiency of the equipments. If this case is true, then the argument will not hold water. The survey must be more specific about the reasons by the people regarding their eagerness to conserve energy.

Secondly, the argument has only taken into account the energy usage in households. Is electrical energy consumption only limited to households? No, it is used everywhere whether it is in industries, in agriculture, in corporate offices. Maybe energy consumption will reduce in households but it cannot be guaranteed that it will reduce in other places as well. Due to continuous industrialization, now there are more industries coming than ever and will be even more in the future. The planning department has just completely overlooked these facts and thus not provide a holistic view of the argument.

In conclusion, I want to say that the argument is based on a lot of assumptions and thus pose some unwarranted questions. So, questions regarding the validity of the survey and actual usage of the electrical energy must be answered. Some specific data must be presented if energy consumption is actually reducing in households or not.