The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In a recent memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company, it is claimed that new power plants are unnecessary. They concluded based on the evidence that the extant generating plants had met the demands of the people for twenty years. However, the supporting facts provided are inadequate and are unbelievable. So, further evidences are required to check the viability of the claim.

To commence, the argument is based on the assumption that the demands remains constant. In other words, the needs in present is same as before. What if the situation changes? For instance, the population increase might significantly surge the amount of energy requirements. Also, the use of more luxurious equipment and high yielding factories’ machines might require more electricity than before. If any of the situation have merit then the argument is highly weakened.

Similarly, the argument says nothing about the interest of the people; either they will use the appliances to save energy or not. And also, what about the economic conditions of the people? For instance, it might be possible that the cost associated with the new efficient appliances is too high that people find difficult to purchase. There might be the case that the previously bought appliances are still intact and people don’t want to change for new one. If any of these hold true, then the argument as a whole doesn’t hold water.

Furthermore, the argument states that the passive solar heating will aid to reduce the consumption of the electricity. Nevertheless, the argument provides no buttress to the claim and also didn’t mentioned about the cost associated with it. What if the users didn’t find the cost to be pragmatic? It might be probable that people won’t use solar if the cost of it is way too high than the cost of electricity. If any of the above reasons is true, then the argument falls apart.

To recapitulate, the argument as a whole has made many unwarranted assumptions and the evidence provided are insufficient to study the practicality of the claim. Therefore, aforementioned evidences are required in the form of systematic study to determine the workability of the conclusion.