According to a government report, last year the city of Dillton reduced its corporate tax rate by 15 percent; at the same time, it began offering relocation grants and favorable rates on city utilities to any company that would relocate to Dillton. Within 18 months, two manufacturing companies moved to Dillton, where they employ a total of 300 people. Therefore, the fastest way for Beauville to stimulate economic development and hence reduce unemployment is to provide tax incentives and other financial inducements that encourage private companies to relocate here."

At first glance, the article seems reasonable that the new factories have more out-of -town workers than Dillton residents, so the unemployment rate of Dillton hasn’t changed. Even though Dillton’s city council has reduced the city’s corporate tax by 15 percent, and the city has also started providing the relocation amount to companies wanting to move to Dillton. Therefore, the author argues that the Dillton’s employment rate hasn’t reduced even after employing more than 1000 people by two companies but there are several plausible alternative explanations to this argument.

One possible explanation concerns the Dillton residents. According to the article published in the Dillton news paper that Dillton city’s council wants to improve the city’s employement rate and economy. There are many possible explanations for this. For one, the Dillton residents might not be as competent as required by the new factories. They might not have the required skills. Another explanation could be Dillton city might be lacking in infrastructure due to which many Dillton residents who are well educated might not be staying in the city. It seems they have migrated to another advanced cities where they might be getting better opportunities along with better salary & benefit.

Another explanation involves the new factories. Even though Dillton City’s council has reduced the corporate tax rate by 15 percent and it has started providing relocation allowance to the new companies. There are several plausible explanations for this. First of all, there might be political clashes in the city due to which factories might not be interested in starting its new plant in Dillton. Factories might have to get several clearances from the government before set up. Another explanation is city might not be providing the land at subsidized rate. It seems residents don’t want to give up their land to government because they might be thinking new factories would cause air pollution, water pollution etc. which can affect their health. In regard to land, residents may not be ready to sell their land, for not getting the price of their land as per current market.

A final explanation is regarding the evidence. The lack of substantiated evidence . Dillton’s city council has reduced the corporate tax by 15 percent but they haven’t mentioned how much it was earlier, then only it can be judged that this reduction is helpful to the new factories. Regarding relocation allowance, no amount has been mentioned. We don’t know how much exactly this amount is. Further, which type of new factories have started in Dillton city. Whether these factories are alike or different. There are several flaws in the article. They haven’t mentioned about the education system in Dillton city whether their residents have latest skills like computer skill, research skill. There is no clear indication of number of residents who are unemployed. Hence, it seems before publishing the article in newspaper, they haven’t done their research properly about the unemployment which could lead to false information about the Dillton city.

In conclusion, there are several plausible and sound alternatives to the argument. The author has made flaws in the argument regarding Dillton residents and factories. It is possible and even probable that the new factories are not recruiting the Dillton residents at all.