"Several recent surveys indicate that homeowners are increasingly eager to conserve energy and manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy-efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, we anticipate that the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase, and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past 20 years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants should not be necessary."

At first glance, the memorandum proffered from the planning department of an electric power company seems to make sense. The author explained how latest home appliances and new technologies help home owners to save energy. Manufacturers are selling latest home appliances which are twice energy-efficient as those sold a decade ago. Author also pointed out about the new technologies for better home insulation and solar heating helps people to cut the energy need. Therefore, the author argued that construction of new electric generating plant is not required because total demand of electricity remains the same in 20 years, but there are several unproven assumptions.

First assumption concerned about manufacturers. The author assumed that the number of manufacturers in the market are same in 10 years. The memorandum doesn’t include the numbers of manufacturers available in the market because when there are more manufacturers in market, they compete to each other and they think of their profits not from customer’s point of view. No doubt that homeowners want to save energy efficiently. Author has not provided any evidence about the number of home owners in the area where the survey was conducted because 10 years is long period and it is unfair to compare the situation before 10 years and now.

Another assumption involved about new technologies. The author assumed that weather is same throughout the year in that place. New technologies for better home insulation and solar heating are easily available for home owners and these are energy saving, but solar panels are useful when there is enough sunlight. Otherwise people will have to keep the back up at their home which in turn results in the same cost as the electricity cost. Technologies have advanced beyond our thought and every house has several electronic gadgets and home appliances. Author assumed people use very limited appliances to save energy.

Final assumption was all about the electricity generating plants. The author assumes population size is same in 20 years. According to the latest report, population size has tremendously increased in past few years. Memorandum has many flaws by not mentioning the site where the survey was conducted whether the site is in developed country or developing country. 20 years ago,3 electric plants were enough to meet the needs of people but based on current population size decision should be taken for the need of new plant. If they will not construct the new plant, people will have to suffer. There are many countries in the world where people haven’t seen the electricity yet. How their life would be without electricity is hard to think.

In conclusion there are several unstated assumptions have been made in the memorandum. The author made several flaws in it about manufacturers, new technologies and electricity generating plants. It is very unlikely that demand of electricity remains the same in 20 years.