According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The conclusion here drawn is that all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to that of Groveton’s in order to decrease cheating among students. This argument is full of assumptions that needs to be clearly examined in order to reach the conclusion.

First, the author is saying that the Groveton college has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which requires students who has agreed not to cheat to notify the faculty members they suspect that others have cheated. How can we surely say that the students are honestly reporting the cheating, it may happen that they are saving their classmates or friends who are actually cheating. This can be the reason for decrease in cheating in Groveton college and not honour code adoption.

Secondly, it is mentioned in the argument that after five years the cheating has decreased to fourteen than it was in first year which was twenty one in number. It is not mentioned about the number of students taken into account for the analysis. It may happen that the students have decreased in the college and the number that is showing decrease in cheating might be more in relation to the number of students. It is not clearly mentioned anywhere about the logic which has been implemented in calculating the decrease in number of cheating.

Thirdly, it is mentioned that all college and universities should adopt this honour codes similar to Groveton’s college ignored to decrease cheating among students. We do not know about the students who are studying in other colleges. They might not not be ethically more strong than the students in Groveton college. Adopting an honorary code is more about ethics and moral values, so we cannot be sure that the other college students will be same like Groveton’s.

The author should provide valid points and clear these assumptions before making any conclusions. The above mentioned argument is not convincing enough to reach at any conclusion