According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

The argument states that in the past year, fewer people attended the Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year and it claims that this is caused by the lack of awareness about the good quality of their movies amongst the audience. But the decline in the number of people that attended the screening can't solely be attributed to this reason. What are the other factors that could be considered responsible for the low number? Probably the nation is undergoing a recession period or an epidemic, where a large number of people may want to avoid going to the theatres in order to save money or avoid infections. There could be other attributes contributing as well, like for instance, an offseason release. If the company released a children's movie during the exam season then they could be losing out on their most important demographic.

It also states that the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies increased in the past year. But this does not provide evidence about the number of movies that received positive feedback out of the total number of movies released. What about the remaining movies and their reviews? What if they weren't reviewed at all or were reviewed minorly? This could lead to an uneven statistic report on the reviews received by the company. Hence, it is important to understand what percentage of the total movies released were reviewed and determine the overall statistics.

The number of positive reviews increased when the number of viewers decreased. This cannot be a determinant of the success of the movies. What if the number of reviewers remained the same and the non-reviewer viewers decreased? For instance, if previously, 50 out of 200 viewers reviewed and gave positive feedback, then that percentage of positive reviews will be lower than when 50 out of 100 viewers review the movie this past year. Thus, the statement that despite the lower number of viewers, the greater number of positive reviews indicate success cannot be accepted unless the entire statistics are reviewed.

Thus, it is difficult to commensurate success with ambiguous statistics. For an increase in the budget for advertising, various factors need to prove that the issue is not the quality of the movies but the lack of awareness about them among the public. What if the major issue is the content of the movies? Then, even after enhancing the advertising budget and conducting marketing campaigns, success cannot be guaranteed.