The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

I strongly agree with the claim that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition. This is important because leadership is the virtue of those who know how to work in a team and manage the team and its progress. For example, when an employee faces difficulty in one of the tasks assigned, it can be resolved if the coworkers or the team lead assists the employee in resolving the issue. Thus, to be a leader, it is very important to understand how to work in a team where everyone contributes to the same cause i.e., the success of the team and not against one other like in a competition.

It is important to understand that a sense of cooperation and collaboration promotes teamwork which makes the tasks easier. This is because when a group of people work together on an assigned task newer ideas and perspectives are discussed which helps in the simplification of tasks. It also helps in meeting the deadlines well within time. An added advantage is the division of workload and stress among all the team members. For instance, a huge task will be better performed if it is divided, discussed and worked on by multiple employees rather than a single employee who might collapse under the pressure of the task. Hence, working in a team helps in simplifying the tasks and producing better and efficient results.

A sense of competition imbibed brings a lot of collateral damage with it as well. It not only promotes unhealthy emotions like jealousy or competitiveness in employees but also develops a quality of selfishness. Every employee is focused on individual progress and does not think about the growth of the company on the whole. In extreme cases, it could also lead to mishandling of documents or other losses. Thus, it is very important to demote the idea of competition and encourage healthy collaboration between employees.

It is therefore very important for youngsters to imbibe the quality of cooperation early on in order to become better and successful leaders in the future. If the importance of collaboration and teamwork is understood when young, it could lead to splendid results in the future and certainly contribute to the progress of the nation.