An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia — the scent of lavender flowers — has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monitored electronically. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. At the beginning of the second week, the volunteers discontinued their sleeping medication. During that week, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks. Therefore, the study proves that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time.

The author concludes that lavender cures insomnia within short period of time, the argument fails to mention several key factors, reveals several instances of poor reasoning and ill-defined terminology and distorts the view of the situation by manipulating facts and by providing weak evidences. To support the conclusion, the author reasons that lavender cures insomnia within short time. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the authors conclusion. Hence, the argument seems in complete or unsubstantiated.

Firstly, where all 30 volunteers that were tested with lavender-scented pillows had same medical condition other than insomnia and had same work conditions? This is mere assumption made without much solid ground. The argument would have been convincing if it explicitly stated that all 30 volunteer that were tested had same medical condition. The work stress can be one of the reason for insomnia.

The argument also futher claims that the volunteer were able to improve on their sleep issues after stopping to take their usual pills. However, author fails to prove that the improvement was due to lavender. The improvement can be due to any other reason like changes in surronding or changes their daily actiivity. If the author would had given any evidence about their daily activities than the argument would had been more convencing.

The author further claims that during thirds week of study the volunteer were able to sleep longer and more soundly than previous two weeks.The author did not prove that during third week improved results were due to laveder scented pillow.Rather it would be because of change if habit of volunteer of taking pills due to sleep because author states that the vounteer were able to sleep during first week when they were taking pills but they did not sleep well in second week.This statement of author can create flaw in observation of study in third week.

In conclusion, the authors argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster if further, the author must provide more concrete evidence, perhaps by a way of reliable detailed analysis that lavender helps to cure insomnia in short period.had same medical condition. The work stress can be one of the reason for insomnia.