Some people suggest that it is wrong to give money to beggars asking for money on the street, while others think that it is the right thing to do. Which point of view do you think is correct, and why?

The topic raises a controversial issue of whether it is right to give money to a beggar. Indisputably, we should give them money for the sake of humanity. But, this will encourage them to take money from people without working. Thus I generally disagree with the opinion that money should be given to beggars because of three reasons.

Firstly, if they get money freely they will not work. For instance, any beggar who just sits all-day outside any temple or railway station for money. And people giving them money will encourage him not to work and instead beg of money. This will have an adverse effect on society.

Secondly, if they do not work they will not understand the importance of money. For example, if any person earns anything with hard work he/she will always respect that hard earn thing. If they get money for free they will spend it without any second thought.

Furthermore, nowadays begging on the street has become business. There are many begging mafias which by force and without a will of person are forced to beg and by giving them money, we are implicitly supporting these illegal activities.

In conclusion, I would suggest that instead of giving them money people should give them food or any other essential goods. So that use them and they couldn't use the money for bad things.