Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author proposes that the decline in deer population in Canada’s artic regions is the result of the deer’s not being able to follow their traditional migration pattern over sea ice. The author states that this is the effect of sea ice metlting in this region due to global warming. However, the above argument needs further evidence to draw the above conclusion.

The argument relates the melting sea ice to decline in deer’s popultion. However it does not specify about the timming of the melt. It is possible that this trend happens in summer, when enough plants are available for the deer’s in thier location and they need not migrate over to other islands.

Secondly, There is no evidence stated whether the melting of sea ice takes place on the age-old migration patterns. It is possible that the reported sea ice melt could be an average taken over the entire artic region and not of the specific migration areas. The author also does not consider the plant growth over the deer’s migration areas. It is possible that the sea ice and the plant growth stays intact and it might not be the reason for deer’s population decline. If any of the above has merit, the argument does not hold water.

The decline in deer’s popultion could be due to other factors such as over-hunting of deer’s by the local hunters. Or it could be due to the rise of disease amongst the deer popultion.

In conlcusion, the arguemnt as it stands is considerbly flawed due to reliance on several unwanted assumptions. If the author is able to collect further )evidence on above three areas(perhaps in the form of an research study) then it is possible to evaluate the reasons for decline in deer’s population.