Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author is explaining the reseaons he belives the deer populations has declined, and claims that the reasons behind this decline are because of their inability to mobile over ice formation between the iclands. Howevert, his conclusion relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence and therefore the argument is flawed.

First, the auther’s only evidence for the deer population decline is based on the hunters’ reports. However, this is not suffecient evidence to lead to such deduction. Perhaps, the auther could use the help of expert zoologists and wide team of researchers to have stronger and more objective evaluation of these changes. Also, the author could support his position with evidence of other reports about deer populations in the same area.

Moreover, if such reports turned to be true, the author never cites evidence to support his position that the decrease in deers’ number is due to the ice melting. If the author has shown data of currnet studies about environmental changes in the arctic area, including ice melting between the islands, then it would strengthen the link between the two variables.

Finally, the author is not excluding other factors, which can lead to decline in deer populations. Perhaps the deer populations are extincting due to the global warmimng and environmental changes. Maybe, seeing less deers is because of their movement to an intirely different and colder areas and not nesecceraly due to limitation of movement. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the argument as it currently stands is flawed due to its relience on several unwarranted assumptions. IF the author is able to offer more evidence, perhaps in the form of a systematic study, then it would be possible to fully evaluate the viablity of the proposed conclusion that the decrease in deers is due to to their inability to migrate across the frozen sea. Unless additional evidence is provided, the readers of this passage should find it unpersuasive.