Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice

from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm

enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for

the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately,

according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports

coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can

conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable

to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

The author concludes that the purported decline in deer population is the result of deer’s being unable to follow age-old migration patterns because the reports of declining of deer population coincide with the recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt. The author’s line of reasoning is that deer walk on frozen sea ice to migrate from one island to another in search of food and since the sea ice has melted, they cannot migrate from one island to another and thus, their population has declined. The author’s argument is unconvincing for various reasons.

First of all, the author concludes that the deer population is declining as a result of the deer’s being unable to follow age old migration patterns across the frozen ice based on the questionable assumption that the decline in deer population is not due to deer’s trying to cross the sea and drowning but is solely because of the deer’s being unable to follow migration patterns. It is entirely possible that the deer might be trying to cross the sea thinking that it is shallow and thus, as a result, drowning in it. This might be a more dominating reason for the decline in deer population. Thus, author’s generalization is unreliable.

Secondly, the author assumes that the island on which the deer are does not have enough plants to sustain the deer population for few more years. Suppose the island has enough plants to sustain the deer population. Then they might still be able to survive on their own island rather than dying of hunger. Thus, the decline in deer population might not be because of the deer’s not being able to follow age-old migration patterns across frozen ice.

Finally, the author uses Causal Flaw. It is a flaw where a correlation between 2 things is mistaken for a causal relationship between the two. The author assumes that because the decline of deer population coincides with the melting of sea ice because of recent global warming trends, the melting of sea ice has caused the deer to be unable to migrate and hence cause the decline in population. Hence, the argument is flawed.

In sum, the argument is not a strong argument. The author must provide support for the assumption that the island on which deer are living does not have enough food to sustain the population for few more years. Moreover, proper evidence has to be provided to support the assumption that the decline is solely due to deer’s being unable to follow age-old migration patterns across the sea and not because of the deer drowning in the sea in an attempt to cross it. Also, support has to be provided for the assumption that the coinciding of decline in deer population with melting of sea ice due to global warming implies a causal relationship between the two. Only with more convincing evidence will this argument become more than just a causal flaw.