Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at

The authors statement says that there is a decrease in the population of the deer in the Canada’s Artic Region because of global warming which results in the melting of ice. However, this assumption is not cogent enough to come to a conclusion that the decrease of the deer population is based only on the reason mentioned above and the statement is a flawed one because of the following reasons.

Firstly, the author says that the deer move from one island to another in search of food. It wasn’t mentioned on which islands did the local hunters do hunting. May be the deer resided in an island where the hunters didn’t reach usually as the weather was very cold. May be the deer resided in one island because they found adequate food in that island instead of travelling. This might have made the local hunters believe that their population has reduced. The details on which islands the deer usually move wasn’t mentioned. Also, the deer would have separated and traveled to different islands and it might look like their population reduced. Another Reason might be increase in the number of hunters which would also result in the decline of deer.

The author hasn’t mentioned a strong evidence that the information given by the local hunters was correct. Global warming might affect the deer but the authors assumption is not based on research and just came to a conclusion as it coincides. One more reason would also be diseases in the deer. Some deer carry diseases that would spread in the group and affect them leading to death. The other possible circumstances which would dwindle the population of deer wasn’t mentioned. The author says that the deer were unable to follow the age-old migration patterns. The deer migration habits might have changed with time because they might have started searching for food in new islands as the food in the old islands wasn’t adequate.

Another reason for the decline of population would be their food habitat. Even though the deer traveled to different islands for food due to the change in climatic conditions, the plants died and the deer didn’t get the food they require to survive. This might have led to starvation and the population de-escalated. Additionally, it wasn’t mentioned about the islands that the hunters took in to consideration for hunting. May be there were many islands and the hunters use to hunt only in their local areas. The report wasn’t clear and statistics of the population was also not mentioned.

In sum, the authors claim was lacking evidence and the statistics of the population wasn’t mentioned. Also, the decrease of population due to global warming wasn’t backed by any further information. Further investigation is required to find out about the different islands in that area and even the habitat of the deer has to be studied before making a conclusion.