Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In a memo from advertising director to Super Screen Movie Production Company, it was suggested that a larger share of budget should be allocated to advertising to increase the number of viewers. It's based on the assumption that all positive reviews are from trusted sources, people watch positive rated movies irrespective of their preference and quality of a movie is not responsible for reduced viewers. However, the above recommendation can be deemed viable only after answering the below questions.

Firstly, what is the credibility of the sources where positive reviews are provided? What if these are fake websites and people term them unreliable? There may be a possibility that the number of people reviewing the movies are very low thereby resulting in a higher average. If the number of people reviewing increases, then there may be a possibility that the rating may go down. One cannot attribute that a movie is of high quality just from ratings from untrusted sources. There should be evidence to specify the source and credibility of these ratings, and also the number of people reviewing and rating it as a hit. Advertising that a movie is highly rated based on a single individual rating it 10/10 may lead to mockery of the production house and thus should be avoided until necessary evidence is analysed.

Secondly, what is the guarantee that all the positive rated movies lead to better viewer turnout? What if the genre to which the movie belongs may not be appealing and result in reduced viewers? There are certain sections of people who don't like horror movies, etc irrespective of their rating. If the production house isn't focused on working on genres that attracts masses, then the viewer count may remain stagnant irrespective of the money invested in advertising. Thus, it's important to have quantitative data regarding the genres loved by the public and producing such movies instead of advertising.

Thirdly, the advertising director assumes that the movies are of good quality as percentage of positive reviews has increased. But one cannot confirm it based on unstated numerical entity. If percentage has increased, then by how much? it may be 1% or 50%. One cannot conclude without evaluating the metrics. And movie quality and viewer attraction cannot be solely attributed to reviews, there are other factors which might contribute such as the awards a movie has won(Oscars, etc), the box office collection it has made in the initial days, the way a movie has been promoted, etc. All these contribute to attract viewers to watch a movie. Thus, it's necessary to carefully evaluate by what factor the number of positive reviews has increased as well as the quality of the movie.

In conclusion, the above recommendation is based on several unwarranted assumptions. The advertising director must provide relevant and valid evidence to above mentioned questions for further examination. Until then, the argument shall remain flawed.