Argument Topic :“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improv

The argument asserts that Movies Galore should reduce operating expense in order to increase its profits and provide some reasons to hold this opinion. While this claim seems convincing at first glance, there are some underlying flaws that raise doubt about the author's recommendation.

The author unfairly assumes that in order to enhance their benefits, they should reduce operating expenses while no evidence is offered to substantiate the causality. We are not informed that what percent of income is devoted to operation? If it is not a huge cost, they would better not reduce their work hours because the money that they can make in those hours may be worth to pay the cost. On the other hand, we are not inform what time is the peak of the sell. If they sell more in the evening, they may reduce the work hours in the morning. For instance, they can open the store late in the morning and close the store late at night.

Second, we are not told if the all stores are in the same area or not. For example, the people living in the a certain area of downtown may be farmers and they used to get up early in the morning and go to bed early in the evening, on the other hand, in other areas may be go to sleep late at night. Therefore, the owner of Movies Galore should determine schedule of his stores based on the area they work.

In addition, we should know that what the range of customers are. If a majority of them are youths, they may work until 6:00 P.M. , then, they do not have enough time to go to store. If they are students they may have class until 6:00 P.M. Another point that the author concern is that the owner wants to keep his fame but they do not consider that if they were not be able to pay their costs including operating expense, they could not get this fame and at worse they might be forced to close their business for ever. On the other hand, they might become fame for their work hours. We do not know if the low price is the only reason.

In sum, this argument lacks enough evidence to prove the conclusion. If the author were to provide concrete evidence regarding above issue and answer the mentioned questions his argument was more convincing.