In surveys Mason City residents rank water sport (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes littl

The argument asserts that the city government has to devote more money for providing recreational facilities and provide some reasons for holding this opinion. While this claim seems convincing at first glance, there are significant underlying flaws that raise doubt about the author’s conclusion.

First of all, the results of survey are problematic in two aspects. First we are not informed who conducted the survey. If this study is constituted by the government, the results might be distorted and reliable because the government may unfairly want to show that a majority of people are interested in water sports such as swimming, boating and fishing in order to do its plan. Second, we are not informed if the survey was confidential. If not, the respondents might provide false information that they believed that the questioners might approve of. In either case, the poll is unreliable.

Second, the argument unfairly relies upon the assumption that the government should devote more money for recreational facilities because it has received a number of complaints from resident. While the author fails to substantiate the causality and what the majority of them want. The argument asserts that they are suffered from quality of the river’s water and the river’s water so if the government just want to dedicate budget to recreational facilities, what percent of the budget will be spent for cleaning the river’s water? What will be the priority of a majority people, enhancing the quality of the river’s water or providing facilities such as boats?

In addition, the argument unfairly assumes that if the government pay for riverside recreational facilities, this will make people satisfied. While no concrete evidence is offered to substantiate this claim. The argument asserts that the people rarely used The Mason River Flowing through the city while we are not informed what the main reason is. Considering that the survey is true, the people may be interested in water sport but they never like to do that in this river.

In sum, this argument falls under some important logical fallacies. If the author were to provide concrete evidence regarding the survey and main causality of complaints his argument was more convincing.