The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.

The argument as stated in the newspaper editorial is that the people that enters a country illegally through its borders if not checked will endanger the economy and national identity of the country, because the illegal immigrants pose threats to them and these immigrants must be returned back to their country of origin. This argument is flawed and the assumptions made does not hold water. I will be stating below some of the assumptions on which the argument is based and why it is very wrong to assume that all illegal immigrants poses threat to their host country economically or security wise.

Firstly, the newspaper editorial generalized the number of people that enters a country illegally without stating the actual numbers. What is the population of people that are entering the country illegally? Do this people after entering just come for visitation or they stay? The newspaper has to be specific about the population of the people that enters and also how long do they stay? Some people might have entered illegally just to have a glimpse of what the country actually looks like and it does not mean that they are there to stay for long. For instance, a Canadian might have entered the Mexican border illegally just to be like an adventure to see the drug cartels of Mexico. It does not mean that he is willing to stay. It does not mean that he will not return back or who will leave a country like Canada and stay at Mexico but this person might just be adventurous to see what to satisfy himself about what the cartels way of life is.

Secondly, the newspaper made the assumption that all illegal immigrants are non educated fellows. It is a known fact around the world that even most educated people up to the level of Ph.D. always want to find greener pastures especially people from the developing countries like Nigeria who wants to find better way of life of living. These people are even more educated than the locals at times and the way they contribute to the economy of the nation they go into is in no small measure. For instance, trained medical doctors in Nigeria and Cameroon has gone to US illegally through visits and they refused returning back, these same Medical doctors has gone ahead to help the health care of the United States and also bolster the already existing infrastructures. People coming into the country illegally tends to also contribute to the increase in Gross Domestic Product GDP of a country rather than just been parasites to their host countries. Unless if the illegal immigrants are people with bad records and even at that, a bad person can always be given the second chance at life to make a better living and contribute to the growth of the society.

Furthermore, the newspaper editorial made the assumption that all illegal immigrants quickly acquire Papers that will make them entitled to some basic facilities like health and the likes, whereas this is not always the case. Most of the jobs that the locals cannot do, it is this illegal immigrants that does it as an under the table job. if the country decides to send them back, who will do it? Is it the very proud and grouchy Latinos in US that would do the job. These are people that tend to even rely on stimulus packages given by the government and would rather prefer to rely on that than to lay their hands on doing anything. For instance, in the United States, most unskilled jobs like cleaning, laundry, child care, vehicle repairs and factory works are been done by the illegal immigrants as an under the table job. If this set of people are sent back, who will get it done? These set of people contribute in no small measure to the growth of the United states economy and sending them back will hurt not only the illegal immigrants but also hurt the United states economy in no small measure.

It is my believe that my assumptions above might be subjected to further scrutiny and also some people might think it does not hold well, but the fact remains that the so called illegal immigrants contribute in no small measure to the growth of their host countries and these set of people no do not pose any danger. Host countries can increase their security surveillance on this people. When shootings happen in places like Michigan in US, in most case it is always done by an American and not an illegal immigrant. These illegal immigrants only want a better life and in no way endangers the economy and national identity of their host countries.