"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The consideration by balmer island to prepare for an increase in population and its impact transport sector in the summer period is a step in the right direction. The author however comes about his conclusion by making baseless assumptions and citing implementation of a recommendation in neighbouring city. In other to evaluate these recommendations several trenchant questions need to be asked, so as to assess the validity of the author’s argument.

One of the questions that need to be asked is, will an increased use of mopeds really the cause accidents rates to go up? if accidents rates do in fact go up, are mopeds the cause? are there other factors that could contribute to increased accident rates? what is the traffic situation on the island? Of course infrastructure put in place to carter for a small population cannot be effective in dealing with a large population, so what is the infrastructure on ground in the transport sector on balmer island? In an instance, balmer island might not have traffic lights or proper traffic control system. while this maybe good enough for a small population, the risks that comes with it increase as the population increases in the summer season. In this case, increased use of mopeds is not the cause of accidents but lack of proper infrastructure.

Futhermore, the author makes an assumption that since the recommendation was effective in the neighboring town of seaville, it must be equally effective on balmer island. A question that arises is how similar are balmer island and seaville? Based on this consideration other question that come up are, is the moped transport network similar on both islands? do they have the same quality of infrastructure? what is the population and other important traffic data like moped usage on both islands? And if in fact they are similar, will the response of the occupants of both islands to the implementation of the recommendation be similar? it is important provide answers to this questions as the evidence that they attack constitutes the core of the recommendation. if there is even a slight difference on both islands, it can alter the recommendation considerably. For example, building on the infrastructure example, if seaville has a better infrastructure to handle an increase in population, it would have been easy for them to reduce possible causes of increased accidents to the increased use of mopeds. Therefore implementing a similar recommendation with seaville when conditions are different in both islands is faulty.

Thirdly, balmer island makes an assumption without considering the answer to a very important question, will occupants of the island comply with the recommendation? For most part of the year, the population on balmer island is small compared to summer periods, and is enforcement of laws will be relatively easy compared to when they have an increased population, so what is the effect of an increased population on compliance? can law enforcement agents manage a larger population? answer to this question is important because it plays a key role in determining if the accident rates will reduce.

In conclusion, while it is important for balmer island to make provisions and accommodations for an increased population, they have to make important considerations which must start from the questions identified before putting forward final recommendations for implementation. Hence, a holistic assessment of current resources and infrastructure on the island as well as a comprehensive study of factors that can cause increased accidents on the island has to be done before making any recommendations.