“Bayside citizens need to consider raising local taxes if they want to see improvements in the bay side school district. Test scores, graduation and college admission rates and a number of other indicators have long made it clear that bayside school district is doing a poor job educating the youth. Our school looks rundown. Windows are broken, bathrooms unusable, classroom equipment hopelessly out of date. Yet just across the bay, in New Harbor, school facilities are up-to-date and in good condition. The difference is money; new harbor spends twenty seven percent more per student than Bayside does, and test scores and other indicators of student performance are stronger in New Harbor as well.”

Bayside area is definitely lacking in the education sector, but this conclusion stems from comparison with the New Harbour school. We know the facilities and the furniture is run-down and pretty awful, but we don’t know how this happened. It could be that the school management is misusing the funds given to them for this purpose, or it could also be due to the students’ rowdiness. For the former case, an inspector should be sent to evaluate the workings of school, and for the latter, students must be disciplined accordingly.

Test marks may not have a lot to do with the facilities of a school- often times a teacher can work magic with students and inspire them to greater heights. Bayside school must evaluate the quality of their teachers, and understand what is lacking in their way of teaching, and hire new teachers if need be. It is also to be seen whether students in either school can afford the school fees, and what is their economic state. It may be that students’ fee and the school fee structure have a lot of disparity, and this is creating the situation of lack of funds.

Increasing taxes may not be the immediate, viable solution- the school must first look at the quality of teaching it imparts and the kind of students that throng its halls. Then, the finances of the school must be evaluated in an impartial manner to determine how the money is being put to use.