We venerate loyalty- to our schools, employees, institutions, friends as a virtue. Loyalty, however can be as least as detrimental as influence as it can be a beneficial one.

Loyalty may sound simple in principle- you are pledging yourself to a person, or perhaps any ideals, or to an institution. Your actions and behavior henceforth have to match with your promises: you have to practice what you’ve solemnly sworn upon. There is no going back on your word, not without having to deal with others’ broken hearts and disappointment about your failure. Breaking your word is tantamount to breaking trust. An unsaid declaration to stick with the ship even while it’s sinking is as important as loyalty pledged with an “I do.”

An employee pledging himself to his superior and the company has his loyalty tested when he has to make a choice between a tempting offer from a competitor or sticking to his guns in his current workplace. A husband may find himself wondering about his wife’s loyalty when she comes home from a dinner with work friends- but has to trust in his wife instead of casting undue suspicion her way. Loyalty forms a big part of our daily happenings- functioning in everyday human social circles would be hard if we didn’t trust each other or doubted the other’s loyalty. Even in the biggest democracy of the world, the Prime Minister has to trust his cabinet of ministers to carry out any collective decisions they may take- their loyalty could stem from avarice or power-hunger: nevertheless, their loyalty should be to their party and their elected head alone. A school alumni looks back with fondness at his alma-mater, because he had pledged loyalty to the place that taught him. A friend tells the other secrets in the hope that they won’t be on the grapevine tomorrow- all because of underlying loyalty. Trust and loyalty runs the world as we know it.

But often times, loyalty can be a mistake- to a wrong belief, a falsified ideal, or blindly following a head. In cases like these, loyalty is detrimental. One cannot keep faith with something that is leading to ruin, and loyalty is almost always the reason why. Who can question the head of a company that his decisions may not be the best course of action for his employees, when all of his board members worship the very air he breathes? Who can question the principal of a school when all his teachers are puppets who agree to his wave of reforms without knowing what the students actually want? Such loyalty does more harm than good, and no one benefits from misplaced trust.

The point being, loyalty has to be questioned at times, for a healthy relationship. People must not be blind in their dealings with the world at large- they must always know when to push the brakes on something detrimental. Blind loyalty is a recipe for disaster. Instead of putting loyalty up on a pedestal and preaching it all the time, a healthier attitude would be to look twice before crossing the road.