Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who still ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish margarine from butter, or they use the term "butter" to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The manager of Happy pancake House believes the restaurant should extend cost-saving change from butter to margarine to restaurant in southeast and northeast. However, the following alternative explanation of data, all of which probably undermine the proposed suggestion, should be consider as well.

The data shows only 2 percent of customers are complaint about it. Before we accept it as truth, there’s still some questions about the data. How did the restaurant collect this data? Did waiter randomly select the customers to inquire their feeling about the change from butter to margarine? The servers in restaurant usually get basic salary but they have to do lots of task.a It’s quite reasonable that the server avoid asking those customer in bad temper so that can get good performance and also doesn’t have to write a report about the customers’ complain.

Even if the severs spread the survey fairly, we can’t say most customer are satisfied with the change or could not tell margarine from butter. It’s also likely that the customers are busy, they can’t spare any time to express their upset in the new change so as to avoid the time-wasting talk with servers.

The business manager says that extend the change to the southeast and northeast will increase their profitability seems quite plausible. What if the population in southeast are different from those in southwest? Customers in southeast may directly complain about the “fake butter” and are loath to visit Happy Pancake House again. Talking to profitability, the more fundamental questions is, how many percent the butter accounts in their cost structure? What about the butter accounts only 1% in the cost? Then the change will only improve the profit of Happy Pancake House inconsequentially but the goodwill of the chain will be downgraded.

The claim is not convincing without ruling out the alternative explanations as above mentioned.