Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States Only about 2 percent of customers have complained indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change Furthermore many server

The memorandum from the manager of happy pancake house describes a change in the recipe where butter was replaced with margarine and how the customers usually reacted to the change. Only 2 percent of customers have complained about this substitution and rest haven’t protested the change. Furthermore, when customers ask for butter and given margarine instead, they don’t complain either. These incidents led the manager to believe that customers can’t distinguish between butter and margarine or they are simply referring to margarine by the term butter. However, before reaching this conclusion some questions have to be answered.

Do the customers actually prefer margarine to butter? What if they like margarine on the foods more than butter. If that is the case, then they won’t likely complain about the change, they would rather be happy about it. It doesn’t matter what ingredients are put in a particular comestible, unless it is not palatable. For instance, if the McDonalds replaces a certain ingredient of a burger with something else and the taste is still delicious, people won’t complain about the change unless they are especially sensitive to that ingredient as evident from the complaints submitted by the 2 percent of the customers. So, no complaints from the customers doesn’t necessarily prove that customers are failing to distinguish between the ingredients rather it might be the case they feel the products still are delectable and they are happy to have them as they are.

Is the flavour of butter and margarine indistinguishable in the foods made by happy pancake house? It might be the case that, the composition of the ingredients in the pancakes and other repasts made from the pancake house makes the flavour of butter and margarine alike. For instance, there are multiple food ingredients added to the cakes and other bakery items. If another ingredient, like vanilla essence is used in the pancake, it has such a strong smell that it subsumes the scents of other ingredients in the food. As a result, the change in other ingredients remain undetectable to general customers. So, it might be that the mixture of the ingredients used in the food of the pancake house makes it hard to separate the taste of butter or margarine, while presented separately customers might understand the difference but, in the mixture, it remains hidden thus, people remain indifferent to the change of recipe.

What if margarine is more beneficent to health? It might be the case as well. With the number of obesity related diseases increasing, people might be happy to choose options that are less detrimental to health. If the customers find margarine to be more conducive to health, they might sacrifice that flavour butter would have added to the food. For example, it was observed at a restaurant in japan, people don’t complain while given lab grown meats in burger patties instead of actual animal meat. When asked they replied its good for biodiversity and their health as well. Hence, they are willing to accept that change for greater good. So, the reason they don’t protest receiving margarine while requesting butter might be a health-related issue as one ingredient can surely be more salubrious that other.

So, based on the aforementioned factors, it can be said that the conclusion reached by the manger might be based on too many unwarranted assumptions. People might well be able to discern between these two constituents and still prefer margarine for its taste or salutary benefits. Or in a pancake house, the fusion of all the ingredients might make the scent of butter and the margarine alike.