Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the

Critical judgement is defined as the qualified evaluation and criticism of a certain activity. It is really important for properly understanding the feasibility and finding loopholes in something. The prose however, suggests that critical judgement of work in any given field has frivolous value unless it is coming from an expert in that field. I stand in partial support of the of given statement for the following reasons.

Expert means a person with adequate knowledge and experience in a certain work of an area. They tend to possess a command over the subject matter and understand everything in detail. To criticise and deliver judgements on any activity, one has to possess sufficient knowledge and experience in that field. For instance, A new invention about increasing the harvest by applying a pesticide is advanced by a group of researchers. That pesticide is shown to be very effective in eradicating the pestilence of the crops, however, the experts on this field might find out that the chemical being proposed also depletes soil from nytrogen, an element really necessary for the production of crops. Without expertise, a lay-man can’t discern whether a chemical used in the field for better production will ultimately yield its desired benefit or not. However, knowledgable and experienced individual can immediately find out the flaws as they are sufficient understanding of the topic as evident on the scenario described above. So, without adequated acumen in any field, presenting a convincing critical judgement is not possible. Moreover, criticising any thing for sake of criticisng is an easy task but to find a solution to the problem needs lucid understanding.

Critical judgement has two important parts, first two find the fault or limitation and then to explain how the limitation can be overcome. However, people with some knowledge can find fault of a work or study, but to explicate the necessary measures for mitigating that fault or limitation is beyond the capacity of those critics. A mechanic can find the faulty parts of a car by assaying the malfunction of cetain parts of the engine but to explain the reason why that part is failing and why that engine design is not feasible is not within the boundary of his knowledge. It needs intervention from an engineer or a designer who has expertise on that field. To, provide a critical judgement a substantial amount of insights is necessary.

However, experts in certain field have predilection for specific interest and they seldom have an impartial view on works. They get biased because of their previous knowledge and stance on a certain issue. Furthermore, a set of rules and principles guild the scope of work in any given field and these experts always tend to think within the conventional methods which can sometimes be a hindrance towards an invention. For instance, when Einstein invented his famous equation E=MC2, he first submitted this scholarly study to the university professor and was this idea was flouted by the professor as it was incongruous with the established methods then. However, this equation later became one of the most fundamental and significant invention of modern physics and now unanimously certified as an ingenious finding by the famous scientist. Point is, because of the boundary set by the norms and standards, some ingenious ideas doesn’t get the recognition they deserve and this sort of critical judgements can be detrimental.

Based on these aforementioned factors it can be said that although, it’s not possible to provide critical judgement on any area without expertise, sometimes the conventional methods which restricts these experts within a boundary, may deter significant discovery and be deleterious for a field.