Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Is Critical judgement of work in a given topic has almost no value unless it comes from an expert? I do not think so, it could have a value. However, most of them is in fact uselsss due to that most of non-experts do not understand what they did, and how to deal with their problems. I think, undergraduate-level backgrounds are necessary to make a critical judgement.

I agree that most opinions coming from non-experts are useless. This is because, non-experts usually lacks the understanding on precise definition about what they would do and tools they will use. Therefore, they just make useless judgements about problems, or work out for misunderstood problems. Various pseudoscientists and pseudomathematicians would be examples: most of them have no proper understanding about problems they discussed: I have seen a person, who argues he proved Riemann hypothesis. However, he could not even say the precise statement of Riemann hypothesis. Even more, his understanding on calculus and algebra is totally broken: mistakes he made was so elementary that even sophomore could point it out.

However, I also think that non-experts could give a new insightful work: to be an expert requires learning gigantic amount of knowledge, and unfortunately, most experts choose to being rigid; they tend to not divert from the precise and known information, because it is an easy way to digest huge amount of knowledge. Therefore, non-experts sometimes show more illuminating ideas than experts. For example, I have heard from an aquaintence about sociology class. Both undergraduate students and graduate students take this class, and interestingly, the undergraduates tend to suggest more creative and maverick ideas than the graduates. She pointed out that undergraduates are not poured into deep knowledge about sociology, so they could not restrict themselves into previous discussions in sociology.

There is a possible opposition about the previous example: undergraduates of sociology are not experts, but they learns sociology, so they are relatively "more" experts than non-sociology majors. This is true, I cannot deny, and I think who can make useful critical judgement should have undergradute-level backgrounds: though undergraduates do not learn how to study, they learn how to understand the thesis and knowledges of their field. Therefore, the chance for misunderstanding their problem or using tools poorly is low for them. Let me explain about pseudomathematicians again: All pseudomathematicians I have seen do not majors mathematics. Moreover, majors I have seen do not do pseudomathematics, even though they sometimes shows weak understaing on their major. They learned that why pop pseudomathematics are wrong, and they understood at least the statement of problems, usually targetted by pseudomathematicians. As a result, they did not make fake proofs or wrong arguments.