The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. Furthermore, there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol. This trend is also evident in reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the healthiest citizens regularly eat.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

This argument about the improvement of citizens of Forsythe’s healthy lifestyles is based on various assumptions that lack adequate information and compelling reasons, thus resulting weakened and doubtful.

In the first place, the author states that citizens’ responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform to the government nutritional recommendations more than they did ten years ago. However, it is nowhere stated in the argument more information about the survey that people took. For instance, we do not know how many people responded to the survey, nor their age range. If most of the people who responded to the survey were adults or parents, then it would be probable that they had a healthier lifestyle than most teenagers or university students who live on their own. Thus the survey would not result adequate to evaluate the overall lifestyle of Forsythe citizens.

Moreover, the author does not describe what are the government recommendations. It is assumed that the latter would be healthy and approved by local doctors and nutritionists. However, this is just an assumption the author does which, if proven unwarranted, can undermine his claim. For example, let’s say that the government recommendations are based on economic gains: instead of recommending healthy products suggested by nutritionists, the government advertises products produced by local farms or shops in order to boost sales despite they do not represent the healthiest choice. In this case, citizens following these recommendations would not improve their eating habits, thus opposing the claim of the author.

Another assumption the author makes regards the higher sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that reduces cholesterol. Here the author assumes that more sales implicate that more citizens of Forsythe are consuming these products, thus resulting in healthier lifestyles. The truth is that there isn’t enough information to back up this implication: it might be that a big industry that produces and ship these products all over the country just opened recently. In that case, higher sales, which include cities other than Forsythe, would not represent an increase in kiran consumption among the citizens, thus gainsaying what the author claims.

Furthermore, it is written that reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the healthiest citizenzs regularly consume, represents another proof of lifestyle improvements. This assumption lacks compelling explanations: if sulia was proved by nutritionists and doctors to have detrimental effects on the human body, then this claim would have been appropriate. Since it is nowhere stated that this product negatively affects the human body, just the fact that few of the healthiest citizenz of Forsythe consume it is not enough to prove that is an improvement in healthy lifestyle.

In conclusion, I would say that the author’s argument is based on many assumptions that lack adequate and compelling reasons and information. A greater insight on the survey, recommendations, and the products stated in the argument would strengthen and bolster the author’s claim.