The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and to increase profitability, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation that replacing butter with margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants would increase profitability is based on implications that lack both adequate information and cogent reasons.

In the first place, the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants states that since only 2 percent of customers have complained about the change, then it means that the rest of them are happy with it. In order to draw such a conclusion it would be appropriate to ask: were customers aware of the mentioned change? Since margarine has a similar taste to butter, and furthermore thinking that it would be really hard to distinguish its flavor if eaten with pancakes, then it is probable that most of the customers did not notice the difference. If they would have been aware of it in advance, then it is reasonable to think that more and more people would have paid more attention to the difference in taste, thus may resulting in more complaints.

Moreover, how is this change affecting the average number of customers eating at these restaurants? From the memorandum we know that only a few people who asked for butter and received margarine instead have complained about it. It could also be that the majority of those who did not complain, just decided to not come anymore after noticing a different taste in the pancakes they had. Having an insight on the trend of the number of customers consuming at the restaurants before and after the change would help in knowing if they really didn’t notice it, thus bolstering the manager’s claim.

Also, how cheaper is using margarine instead of butter? If there is a substantial difference in prices between the two, then it would be reasonable to think that this change represents a real cost-saving solution that could increase profitability. If the cost of margarine is slightly lower than butter then it might not be worth it to risk losing customers because of this change.

On the other hand, it is really important to know how much butter, on average, was consumed by each restaurant. If the recipe used for the Happy Pancake House’s pancakes requires great quantities of butter, then even a slight difference in costs would represent a huge saving of money. Not knowing this kind of information undermines the manager’s recommendation.

In conclusion, I would say that the manager of Happy House Pancakes restaurants needed to answer these questions in order to support his memorandum with appropriate information, thus resulting in a more cogent and coherent recommendation.