Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

People often tend to vacillate between the opinion that teachers do not earn a sufficiently high salary, in proportion to the responsibility they have in educating new generations of kids. However, based on the author’s claim, teachers’ salaries should be based on their students’ academic performance, thus representing a capricious way to allot money to them. Since I believe the introduction of this method of retribution would exacerbate and complicate the current system, I disagree with the author’s claim.

In the first place, I strongly think that students’ academic performance is too unpredictable, thus it cannot represent a systematic way to allot teachers’ salaries. For example, let’s consider how this change would affect the Italian school system. The latter provides that the same teachers teach to the same class of students throughout either the first 3 years of high school or during the whole 5-year cycle. Obviously, the difficulty of the courses taken by the students, who do not have the chance to choose them, increases gradually year after year. It would result unfair then to allot more money to a teacher whose students are all attending the first year and thus having a higher probability of higher academic performances.

Furthermore, teachers in this way would not be judged (and paid) based on the preparation and experience they have, but just based on the results their students are having. Since many people believe that workers’ salaries should be proportional to the quality of the work they are doing, this method could seem a reasonable way to pay them. Nevertheless, I think that students’ academic performances do not represent nor quantify the quality of the teachers’ work. For instance, if one of the above-mentioned teachers of the Italian school system is assigned to a class in which the average scores are substantially lower than others, then the teacher would be paid less even though she’s exploiting her job with the same effort and quality of his/her colleagues.

On the other hand, one could argue that if the majority of kids get lower grades than usual it is because of the teacher who is not experienced or good enough to make all the students study and understand the syllabus. It is true that in some of the cases it is the teacher’s fault, but in the majority of them there would be other explanations for students’ bad results. For example, let’s consider the average grade of one of the toughest courses in the university bachelor course I’m attending, Mathematical Analysis I: every year the average grade among all the students who take this exam is 22/30. Even if there are more classes of this course, and thus more teachers explaining the same arguments, the average grade oscillates between 21 to 23 every year. The lower performances, in this case, would not represent the quality of teaching.

In conclusion, I would say that, for the reasons stated above, students’ academic performance is not an adequate way to allot teachers’ salaries.