Claim: Though often considered an objective pursuit, learning about the historical past requires creativity.

Reason: Because we can never know the past directly, we must reconstruct it by imaginatively interpreting historical accounts, documents, and artifacts.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which the claim is based.

An objective reconstruction of past events is by far one of the most challenging tasks that historians have to face in their job. Since there is no other way other than interpreting and studying the old documents and artifacts found by archeologists, one might think that creativity is a fundamental skill that every historian should have. Nevertheless, based on the reasons I am going to present, I think that nowadays learning about the historical past requires analytical thought and adequate reasoning rather than creativity.

In the first place, it is important to underline how the work of past historians has changed the way of learning about historical events. Thanks to years and years of findings such as old documents, artifacts, historical accounts and so forth, we now have such a big database of information that creativity is not that useful.

Instead, an acute reasoning and the ability to find connections between different documents or artifacts would represent some of the best skills a historian should have.

Furthermore, once a common line connecting chronological events and finding is drawn, there is little space left for creativity. With the advent of modern day technologies, archeologists and other scholars are able to virtually reconstruct and analyze most of the findings in their original form, as well as to know with incredible accuracy the historical period in which they were made. For instance, it is now possible to date back old paintings and physical artifacts by exposing them to a beam of electrons, which then is analyzed from a computer that gives back the results. When all this information is known about the provenience of such findings, then it’s more a matter of drawing the right connections in order to have a coherent and chronological line of events.

On the other hand, it is understable why the claim gives so much importance to creativity. All this information that we now have was once not yet discovered. Historians of the past had to build the basis of what we give now for granted, and this most certainly required a creative mind. As an example, let’s think of how challenging understanding antique alphabets or hieroglyphics had to be. Creativity and imagination would have come in handy.

In conclusion, I would say that the concept of learning about historical events has changed with time. Nowadays the advent of new technologies, and moreover the researches and findings of past historians have shifted the attention from creativity to acuity and analytical thought.