Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Nowadays, any field such as the ones cited in the author’s claim is based on hierarchies, which require some of the people to be in charge of all the rest. People often debate about whether those in power should step down after a defined amount of time or not. I think that the plethora of different circumstances that need to be considered cannot bring to a one-sided claim. Thus, I partially agree with the author in saying that in some cases those in power should step down after 5 years in order to revitalize the enterprise considered. Nonetheless, I partially disagree with the reason on which the author’s claim is based because, in my opinion, revitalization through new leadership is not always the surest path to success.

In the first place, let’s consider some of the cases in which a change in the people in power is necessary. For instance, let’s consider politics and government administration. In almost every nation of the world, such as the United States or Italy, the heads of the government have to be replaced, either by election or chosen by other members of the government, periodically. This surely represents the best way to ensure that any nation is guided in the most preferable way possible: if a president or any other member of the head of the government turns out to be not prepared for the job or does not fully satisfy the expectations and requests of the people, then it is reasonable and necessary to have the chance to replace him. Nevertheless, if those in power show to fulfill their job in an excellent way, they will have the chance to run again and to be elected again by the people.

On the other hand, there are some circumstances in which changing the people in power would not lead to secure success. Rather, this choice might badly affect the future of an enterprise, eventually leading it to a collapse. As an example, let’s take into consideration Apple, one of the leaders in electronic devices. The head of Apple has always been Steve Jobs, replaced only after his death. It was thanks to his ideas and his specific way to establish his business that Apple became one of the most famous brands known worldwide. Based on the author’s reason, a revitalization in the head of this enterprise would have been a better choice. Instead, the success Apple had since its establishment is a clear example of how in some cases leaders should not be replaced if the results are consistent and meet the standards required.

In conclusion, I would say that there are some cases in which it is necessary for those in power to step down after a definite amount of time, thus partially agreeing with the author’s statement. Nevertheless, in some circumstances this change in power could lead to worse consequences, thus would not represent the best way to success.