The following appeared as part of an article in a Dillton newspaper.

"In an effort to bring new jobs to Dillton and stimulate the city's flagging economy, Dillton's city council voted last year to lower the city's corporate tax rate by 15 percent; at the same time, the city began offering generous relocation grants to any company that would move to Dillton. Since these changes went into effect, two new factories have opened in Dillton. Although the two factories employ more than 1,000 people, the unemployment rate in Dillton remains unchanged. The only clear explanation for this is that the new factories are staffed with out-of-town workers rather than Dillton residents."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author of this article from the Dillton newspaper comes to the conclusion that the only explanation for the lack of change in the unemployment rate of the city after the opening of two new factories could be that the residents of the city are not working in them. Even though this claim might represent a plausible explanation, I think that there are some other possible explanations that need to be considered.

In the first place, there is no information about the city of Dillton and its residents. If the number of residents was known, then it would have been possible to have a greater insight on how the 2000 new jobs offered by the new factories did not affect the unemployment rate. For instance, if the city had 500.000 residents and half of them were unemployed, then a change in 2000 new workers would not lead to a noticeable difference in the unemployment rate. On the other hand, if Dillton were to be a small city with 10,000 residents, then the employment due to the opening of the new factories would have been supposed to show a discrepancy in the unemployment rate.

Another possible explanation could come from the fact that the 2000 “new” employees supposed to work in the new factories were already workers for them, but just out of town. In fact, the author of this article reports that in order to revitalize the city’s declining economy the city reduced its corporate tax and offered relocation grants to any company that moved in it. Thus, it might be probable that the two new factories which opened in the city had their previous location just out of town and decided to change it in order to take advantage of the benefits the city council was offering. If this was the case, then it would be reasonable to think that most of the workers of the factories were citizens of Dull city and used to be out-of-town workers, thus explaining the missing change in the unemployment rate.

In conclusion, I would say that the author’s claim is reasonable and could possibly explain the reason why the unemployment rate did not see any difference after the opening of the two new factories. Nevertheless, it is wrong to assume that it is the only clear explanation. There are some other possible reasons why such discrepancy was not seen after the new factories opened, and the explanations I wrote about are an example of them.