People should undertake risky action only after they have carefully considered its consequences.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In our everyday life we frequently might need to make a decision among different possibilities, and everytime we make a choice we should always consider its consequences. Especially for risky actions, which could lead to serious consequences, people should carefully think about what they can lead them to before undertaking them. Nevertheless, there are certain circumstances in which thinking about the consequences is not the best thing to do. That is why I partially agree with adopting this recommendation.

First, let’s focus on some of the circumstances in which considering the consequences of risky actions is preferable. Based on the global pandemic we’re currently facing, going to a stadium or a concert, as well as taking public transportations without a mask, could be considered risky actions. Even though people, especially teenagers, can get tired of wearing a mask or renouncing from attending the events they love, thinking about the consequences of those risky actions should be enough to stop them from doing something they would regret. For example, let’s suppose that the above cited concert, stadium, or public transportations turned out to be outbreaks of Covid-19, and that the teenagers in question would have got it. Soon they would have realized that risking their, and moreover their families, health conditions was not worth it, and that it all could have been easily avoided just by considering such consequences.

On the other hand, there are some cases in which consequences for risky actions should not be considered. For example, let’s think of stuntmen and people who practice extreme sports such as skydiving, free climbing or even bungee jumping. It is needless to say that each of these risky actions would lead to dramatic consequences if not death. Thus, people who undertake them should not consider them in advance. Instead, they should think about the adrenaline and the feeling of freedom that only these extreme sports can give them.

In conclusion, I would say that in most of the cases people should consider every possible consequence before undertaking a risky action. Even though there are some particular circumstances in which focusing on just the dramatic consequences does not come in handy, people have to use their own judgement to choose whether it is really worth risking it.