Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The author of this claim states that laws are not enough to solve many problems of modern society because they cannot change people’s will. Despite the fact that it is not stated which specific problems the claim is referring to, I strongly agree with it. Nonetheless, I think that there is more than one reason why the legal system is not enough to end all problems of modern society.

First, it is essential to highlight the way in which the legal system could solve modern society problems. Since, as the author wrote, laws cannot change what is in people’s hearts or mind, their real goal is to prevent people from doing them. Even though laws themselves cannot change people’s will, the consequences of breaking them might make them vacillate about their decisions. Let’s consider for example the rate of abuses on women happening in italy in the last 5 years: after new laws have been made, the cases of abuse decreased substantially, but the problem is not yet solved. Laws are necessary to maintain order and peace in a society, but it is not enough, and maybe it will never be, to solve every problem.

On the other hand, it is also true that the reason stated by the author is not the only one. Sometimes it is not what is in people’s hearts or minds that drive them to break laws. The reality is that some people do not have any other choice other than that. Italy for example has registered a rising number of immigrants coming from Africa since 2016. The italian government was not able to handle such big numbers and it all precipitated in them not having a place to stay or any jobs to find. As a consequence, most of them started stealing or drug dealing. Laws cannot stop this problem either, but the reason why is evidently way different from the one stated by the author.

In conclusion, I would say that laws and legal system are not enough to solve every problem of modern societies. Whether driven by their will or forced by their current situation, people will always tend to break them.