The following appeared as part of an article in a Dillton newspaper.

"In an effort to bring new jobs to Dillton and stimulate the city's flagging economy, Dillton's city council voted last year to lower the city's corporate tax rate by 15 percent; at the same time, the city began offering generous relocation grants to any company that would move to Dillton. Since these changes went into effect, two new factories have opened in Dillton. Although the two factories employ more than 1,000 people, the unemployment rate in Dillton remains unchanged. The only clear explanation for this is that the new factories are staffed with out-of-town workers rather than Dillton residents."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author of the article presents a proposal implemented by Dillton’s city council to lower the corporate tax and offer relocation grants to any company willing to set up their business in the town. The effects observed include opening of two new factories employing more than 1000 people without bringing significant decrease in the unemployment rate. Towards the end, a reasonable argument is provided that the staff of these new factories mostly comprises of migrant workers. This can be one of the logical reasons but looking at the facts stated there can be some other convincing explanations to account for unchanged employment rate.

First of all, the city council has considered specifically to reduce the corporate tax by 15%. It can be possible that many companies are not satisfied with this decision. they might be wanting further reduction in the corporate tax or some other kind of tax incentives as well. Thus, many companies are not being lured to start their ventures in Dillton. We can infer this as despite offering reduction and relocation grants only two factories have established their ventures.

There is a possibility that Dillton is not an ideal location for corporate or financial companies. The unemployed youth might be comprising of engineering or management graduates looking out for white collar jobs. The job opportunities provided by these new factories is being offered to people who generally engage in manual labour. Regarding more than 1000 people employed at these new factories, they can be blue collar workers who were not content with their previous jobs and thus switched to these new factories.

This argument also involves comparison of two different years. The job market and circumstances might be varying in these two situations considering the city and global economy. It can be possible that international job opportunities have reduced increasing unemployment rate from those job seekers. Thus, the net unemployment rate is not showing significant change as on one side jobs have been created whereas people are even losing out on job offers.

Therefore, the author has offered one reasonable explanation which can be true. Although, after analysing the facts carefully and considering the situation from all perspectives we draw some different conclusions as well. There is a need for some detailed information in order to come down to the correct inference.