The city of Winston has two large department stores: Namen and Roscoe. Namen is known for its high-end designer fashions, while Roscoe is known for more affordable fashion options. Both Namen and Roscoe are each considering opening another store in the growing suburb of Salem, where the population has grown over 50% in the last three years and where the median income is $75,000. Namen’s executives argue that as population and median income increase, people are willing to spend more money on clothing. However, Roscoe’s executives believe that the suburbs are more family oriented, and therefore their store will be more profitable than their competitor Namen.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the passage has made some good points as to why Namen and Roscoe may record increase in sales if they move to a new suburb. However, the conclusions drawn has given room for some unfounded assumptions. The author may have arrived at a more logical conclusion if certain salient points were considered.

Firstly, the author stated that there had been a fifty-percent increase in population in the growing suburb of Salem in the last three years, and that due to this increase, there will be increase in the sales of designer fashions in Namen's stores. However, there seems to be lack of convincing evidence that this population growth reflects a portion of the society that may have the capacity to afford the high-end designers sold by Namen stores. If the population growth is reflective of the poor section of the society, then Namen's executives may have made an unsubstantiated claim on an increased sales projection. The fact the population growth is stated to have occurred in the last three years leaves a chance for further assumptions. One would consider that this growth may not be indicative of what may happen to the population growth in the future; that is, an reduction in population may not for Namen and Roscoe businesses as planned.

Also, the author stated that the median income of 75,000 dollars in the suburb of Salem indicates that people will be willing to spend more money on clothings sold in Namen stores. What was not mentioned was that this median income may be a result of statistics carried out with majority of the sample space covering High-Net-Worth Individuals living in Salem. Also, there is no viable proof to show that the fact that the average resident in Salem who has this money would be willing to expend it on expensive clothings sold in Namen and not elsewhere. Another question that may need to be answered before Namen and Roscoe executives invest in setting up their stores in Salem is the fact that there may have been other Boutiques or stores in the city, where people are already used to patronizing, which may not encourage them to purchase the wears sold in Namen and Roscoes stores.

In addition, the author stated emphatically that the residents of the Suburb of Salem are family oriented, and as such they will patronize Roscoe Stores. However, what if the products Roscoe stores have termed cheap and affordable may not be affordable to the common man in Salem? The 75,000 dollars median income may be a small amount of money if, for instance there has been an economic recession, as there is no mention of the economic situation of Salem. One may also consider the fact that Salem, being a family oriented suburb, may be a place where people prefer to make their own clothes or opt for cheaper alternatives.

In conclusion, population growth and median income increase in the suburb of Salem appears vague and cannot be taken at face value. Thus, it is not clear whether or not Roscoe will be more profitable than Namen, as there are a lot of assumptions that need to be adequately analysed before a viable conclusion can be reached.