Claim: Researchers should not limit their investigations to only those areas in which they expect to discover something that has an immediate, practical application.

Reason: It is impossible to predict the outcome of a line of research with any certainty.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Limiting research investigations to only the areas in which expectancy of imminent practical application is high, will result in loss of vision among researchers. These people are the prophets of modern times, they think of the unthinkable and give us small insights on how our future is going to be. These researches are responsible for shaping our future. However, equal importance should be given to the researches that provide us with immediate practical applications. These researches have greater responsibility of eradicating the problems in hand. Without these short term researches people might keep suffering the apprehensive problems forever. Reasoning that outcomes of researches are unpredictable does not give cogent grounds to the claim.

To begin with, promising researches have to be categorical, they demand time, money and patience. It is difficult to conduct researches successfully that have immediate practical applications without any side effects. A research conducted in hurry is bound to have flaws. Take for an example, if scientist were forced to assemble a spaceship that would carry a team of astronauts to far galaxies at light year speeds, under a dead line of 5 years, we can guess how reliable the outcomes will be.

Secondly, researches tend to be interdependent, discoveries in any fields of science open new paths for researchers in other fields. For an instance, if a scientist discovers intergalactic medium that could send electromagnetic waves to other end of the universe in shortest possible time, other researchers would be able to send robotic explorations to gather environmental data from those heavenly bodies.

Moreover, If researchers would limit their goals to only immediate applications the future will be more uncertain. No one would be left to have any vision of how our world would be 2 or 3 decades ahead. Additionally, most of the fundamental theoretical findings had proven themselves against time. Few hypothesis might be proven wrong or misguiding in their time but years later people have accepted them like axioms. If Alan Turing had limited his wisdom to solve the decoding problem during world war, more lives would have been lost and we might be have been living in a world where computers were yet to be invented.

However, attending to imminent threats has equal importance. If all researchers in field of biology would work on thesis that might prove to be helpful in problems that we might face decades later, current disease and fatal viruses would founder the existence of human beings. Take for an example, the Zika Virus, prevention to this virus has the highest importance we cannot afford for it claim more lives.

Conclusively, short term and long term visions have to be given equal importance. They are the two sides of a single coin. Effacing any side will result in coin being useless.