Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age.

Do you agree or disagree?

Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many people believe that there should not be a fixed age of retirement for all types of employees. Certain employees should retire earlier and enjoy the benefits of retirement. I too agree with the same group of people.

To embark upon, certain work requires physical strength, for instance, job of a labor in a country like India is quite cumbersome and involves massive stamina. Regardless of age, they slog in the scotching heat during peak summers lifting and loading heavy construction material. Therefore, these laborious people should retire at the age of forty and given the deserved pension to make ends meet.

In addition, in a country like India, where twenty to thirty years is considered as an ideal marriageable age, one thrives to work hard to save money for their child's wedding. In this case, their monthly income does not suffice the purpose and it becomes hard on their part to fulfill the same. Subsequently, if they retire earlier not only will they have sufficient funds for their child's education or marriage but also will give them a sense of security and accomplishment.

On the other hand, when it comes to protecting our nation, for example, army personnel, it becomes imperative to work till quite an age. Priorities for such cadre of people are different from other nationals. Their pledge to serve the country makes them thrive towards their aim. Consequently, their retirement and pension can be handed over accordingly.

To recapitulate, setting a retirement age according to one's profession and personal needs can be quite beneficial. However, in some cases, it is appropriate for people from all walks of life to retire at the same age.