Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age.Do you agree or disagree?Which types of work

The countries around the globe normally have a retirement age of 65 years for occupations that fall under their regime. A group of people thinks that setting the age of 65 to take retirement cannot be justified and it should be set up as per the occupation of the workers. This essay will discuss this view as per my understanding and will produce a conclusion in the end.

Firstly, setting up a retirement age is crucial for many jobs such as government teachers and other government duties as people get used to their jobs and wouldn’t give it up until the time of their death. If no retirement age is set up for these jobs, it will increase unemployment among the youths and will also hamper the quality of the work. Hence, it becomes significant to set up the retirement age for the jobs.

Secondly, there are various jobs such as duty in the armed forces and other blue-collar jobs which require heavy physical capacity and also have detrimental effects on the workers’ physical as well as mental health in the long run. Furthermore, as these jobs are also extremely important and require youths with enthusiasm and without any health issues, governments should ensure to facilitate early or voluntary retirement along with proper pension and healthcare benefits.

Lastly, not all occupations can be put in the same basket. Therefore, it becomes very important to have different sets of policies according to their requirements.

In essence, as per my opinion, on the one hand, job such as teaching and other white-collar jobs don’t require any physical efforts but expertise; people should be allowed to work in these sectors till the age of 65. While on the other hand, for jobs such as armed forces and other blue-collar jobs that require physical abilities more than mental ones, workers should be allowed to take early retirement with all the benefits. They should also be allowed to take voluntary retirement if needed.