closing the shop at 6:00 PM

The author’s argument of implementing the changes in the other nine stores as implemented in the downtown store is many ambiguous assumptions and fails to mention several factors on basis of which it could be evaluated. The conclusion of the argument relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. Hence, the argument is unconvincing and has several flaws.

First of all the author need to answer the question that by reducing the operating cost at the downtown store, did it improved the profit or it made more loss than the previous operating strategy. As it could be the case that closing the shop at 6:00 PM may lead to very little sales of the rental videos. Hence, the proper analysis of the profit percentage needs to be mentioned after the implication of new changes.

The location of the other nine stores is not mentioned. The demographic location of the nine stores needs to answer by the author. The same rule might not be implicated to the store located in the countryside. Furthermore, it could be the case that most of the customers visit the store after 6:00 PM. This would further reduce the profit of the store. Hence proper data about the customer visiting the store need to take into account before implementing the change.

Moreover, the percentage of the people preferring old movies also might vary from place to place. Hence, the store in downtown might have less sales of old movies but in other place people tends to but the old movies. It may due to the age group of people living around. Hence, it is very important for author to answer about the population age distribution in the location where the store is located. This could also be very crucial befor coming to a strong conclusion of implementing the same changes t all the nine stores.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed due to the above-mentioned reasons and therefore implausible. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts to support the conclusion that the similar changes in other stores would help in gaining more profit.