"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument proposes that a bicycle lane be added to the Blue Highway to reduce rush-hour traffic because commuters complain of increased traffic at peak hours on the Highway.

In order to strengthen this argument, one will want to ascertain how statistics of commuters' complain. Was the survey carried out with questionnaires randomly given to commuters? This information is needed to add evidence to the claim.

Widening the highway, by adding an additional lane may alleviate motorists stress. But the claim that addition of a lane on Green Highway was followed by worsening traffic jam debunked this idea.Whether Green Highway is also between the suburb and city center was not stated. Perhaps Green Highway may have been an alternative route to Blue Highway and traffic worsened because every commuter preferred passing the Green Highway since it had an additional lane and thus volume of commuters increased. The fact that Green Highway experienced worsened traffic jam after the additional lane does not necessarily imply that Blue Highway will experience Jam.

The idea of creating additional bicycle lane is probably not a good one. Travelling from suburbs to city center on bicycle is a longer journey for commuters and pose an increased risk of accidents during the rush hour. More evidence needs to be provided on the assurance of cyclists safety on the highway.

To strengthen the argument that additional bicycle lane be added to the blue highway rather than a motorist lane in order to reduce rush hour traffic, substantial evidences on the statistical data of commuters complain, comparison of volume of traffic between the blue and Green Highway and the assurance of cyclist safety.