The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones

Commending positive actions but not ignoring negative actions is the best way of teaching.

When people are commended for doing the right thing, it bolsters self-confidence in them. For instance, when a teacher openly praises a student for good behavior, this boosts the student’s self-confidence. Everyone loves praises especially for children. Commendations and compliments encourage people to even exceed their expectation.

Another reason praising positive actions is one of the best ways of teaching is that it enhances better performance. For example, an employee that receives commendation for an outstanding job has the potential to improve efficiently on other assigned tasks. Motivation enhances better job performance.

However, ignoring negative actions will not give room for corrections and in extreme cases, could have an adverse effect. Ignoring a toddler’s wrong attitude may give the impression that that attitude portrayed is right. If a toddler fights in school and this action was ignored by the teacher, the toddler has formed an impression that there was nothing wrong with his behavior. On the long run, the child grows up with this impression and this might be detrimental to the child’s character.

There is an adage that says “train up a child in the way he should go and when he is old, he will not depart from it”. Rebuking and correcting negative actions is necessary for teaching children. Also, at the workplace, a boss that ignores subordinates wrong actions compromises work ethics and standards which could affect the quality of the business.

In conclusion, praising positive actions and rebuking or correcting wrong actions is the best way to teach.