“Since a competing lower‐priced newspaper, The Bugle, was started five years ago, The Mercury ’s circulation has declined by 10,000 readers. The best way to get more people to read The Mercury is to reduce its price below that of The Bugle, at least until circulation increases to former levels. The increased circulation of The Mercury will attract more businesses to buy advertising space in the paper.”

The author of the argument claims that the reduction of price of newspaper "The Mercury" will increase reader and hence attract more advertisement. To support this argument, author has cited the reason of low cost competitive newspaper - The Bugle, which was started 5 years ago, and The Mercury's circulation declined by 10000 readers. Although the argument certainly has some merits, the lack of evidence, weak assumption and vague language makes the argument unsubstantiated and deeply flawed. Some of the flaws are as follows.

To begin with, the author has assume that the low cost of the competitor is the sole reason of the decline of The Mercury's reader. Author fails to consider that content of the news might be better and up-to-date compare to The Mercury's. This enable the reader to shift this choice to "The Bugle", and hence increase the circulation of new newspaper.

Secondly, author fails to perceive that if "he Mercury" reduces their prices, "the Bugle" might also reduce the selling price, and eventually the plan of selling price reduction will not work. Moreover, the author does not provide any data the reduction of cost lesser than the competitor will be enough to recover day to day expenditure. Otherwise, loss be much bigger compare to decline in sale.

Although the argument is categorically unconvincing, the author could have strength his argument were he to provide the reduce cost of "The Mercury" will impact their running expenditure, and cost the sole newspaper is the sole reason of the decline in sale. However, without this changes, the argument is implausible and the reasoning faulty.

To sum up, the author has presented interesting but flawed argument that makes several faulty assumptions. Had the author incorporate above mentioned factors, the argument would have been persuasive. As it stands, however, the argument is too weak to be true. Hence, I remain unconvinced.