The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

The council of the Maple County wants to restrict the overdevelopment of its county so that they can make the development of existing farmland in the County. But they are concerned that due to this the pricing of housing in the county will increase substantially. They are thinking that limiting the supply of new housing would lead to an increase in the price of housing in the county. This statement made by the council can be undermined, as the council must look up to the population of the county who are interested in buying the housing and should differentiate them with the people who are willing to develop their existing farmland.

The supporters of the council purported that Chestnut County who restricted the overdevelopment of the county and developed their existing farmland, their housing prices have not risen up to the mark. They have risen moderately. So they are proposing to apply same in the Maple County, but it can be possible that ten years ago the prices of the land in Chestnut County was not that high and it can be possible that the people of Chestnut County were more into farmland rather than developing the county. It can be possible that 10 years ago the Chestnut county’s people were not aware of those housing terms and that is the reason they never pitched in it and thus rates didn’t rise that much.

The opponents of the council allegedly stated that Pine County adopted the restriction of overdevelopment of its county and its housing prices have risen more than double. This statement stated by opponents is 15 years old statistics. In 15 years span lots of things changes and applying the same phenomenon in the present is somewhat difficult to digest. The county should evaluate the market pricing and should look at current statistics. The total evaluation of the market should be done before taking any ultimate step.

The council of Maple county can see the current statistics of the county that how many proportions of the people are into purchasing and selling the housing and the people interested in developing the existing farmland. The statements by proponents are opponents are understatements as they are putting forward the dilemma which is not of present scenario.

In the conclusion, the council should not make any decision merely on the basis of the statements purported by the opponents or proponents. The council should take a look at current statistics and should evaluate the total scenario before taking the final step of restrictions that would be implemented in the Maple county.