The country of Sacchar can best solve its current trade deficit problem by lowering the price of sugar, its primary export. Such an action would make Sacchar better able to compete for markets with other sugar-exporting countries. The sale of Sacchar’s sugar abroad would increase, and this increase would substantially reduce Sacchar’s trade deficit.

Author is making an argument that in-order to reduce the current trade deficit, country of Sacchar should lower the price of sugar, which will help it compete with other sugar-exporting countries. This will lead to increase in sugar export, hence helping Sacchar reduce it's trade deficit. This argument seems to be correct initially, but there are lot of other factors which should be taken into consideration before Sacchar takes this decision.

Firstly, If Sacchar lowers the price of sugar below the amount required by farmers to even earn a penny profit, then farmers will stop growing it which will be very detrimental for Sacchar as sugar is its primary export. Instead of reducing the trade deficit, this will lead to increase in trade deficit and in long run my ruin Sacchar's economy. Sacchar should first analyze what is the minimum amount required by farmers to even sustain, then based upon this analysis, it should take a decision.

Secondly, if Sacchar reduces its sugar price, other sugar-exporting countries will follow the same path in-order to not lose their market. End result will be, sugar-exporting countries exporting the same amount of sugar but at reduced price. Net result, increased trade deficit instead of reduced trade deficit. There can be another scenario, where Sacchar is able to increase its sugar export but the total income remains the same. For example, before reducing the price it was exporting 100 units of sugar at price of 10 unit, total income will be 1000. Now it reduced the price to 5 unit, but is exporting 200 units, end result, same revenue from sugar export. This will not have any effect on trade deficit, but this will destroy the poor farmers, their total income will reduce and they will be less motivated to grow sugar in the future. If this happens, sugar-export will decline in future leading to increased trade deficit.

Thirdly, may be the market is currently saturated, there is not enough demand for more sugar in the market. Sacchar should analyze the market before reducing the prize. If there is no demand for increased export, then reducing the price won't change anything for Sacchar. After reducing the prize it will be just exporting same quantity of sugar at reduced price and this will widen its trade deficit instead of decreasing it.

Hence, based upon the reason stated above, the argument given by the author is flawed. Just blindly decreasing the price won't help Sacchar. It should carefully anaylze the market and farmers condition before taking any abrupt decision.